A Song for Nothing

snow_white_gibson_girl_by_justin_mctwisp-d49svax
as seen at http://justin-mctwisp.deviantart.com/art/Snow-White-Gibson-Girl-258328185

Lately I’ve been very interested in fairy tales. I’ve written a couple and truly been “into” exploring the tropes that make up some of the favorites out there. I love the ‘locked in the tower’ storyline, the ‘evil queen’ persona, the ‘gifting godmother’ magic that is at the heart of so many of these tales. I think, as well, the fact that fairytales have had such a long life is the best point in their favor. In a hundred years will readers be talking about Fifty Shades of Grey or Asha in Time? I don’t know. Maybe. I hope so on that last one. Will Cinderella and Rapunzel still be around? Of that I’m almost positive.

I challenged myself to write a song incorporating and modernizing one of my least favorite fairy tales- Snow White. There’s just something about her utter helplessness and inability to see fatal poisoning coming from the hand of her known enemy that drives me crazy. Here is what I got-

___________________________________________

Redneck Snow White

You saunter up to me at the bar

And you’re quite a sight, its true

But you’re not going to get far

In fact you don’t have a clue

 

There’s many of you

I’ve met some before

But I’m a badass country girl

Not some princess, for sure

 

I get my hands dirty

I drink my whiskey straight up

I don’t bat my eyes, act flirty

And pass on that wine glass for a red solo cup

I’m not some dainty bird about to take flight

Go home, city boy, I am not your Snow White

 

This isn’t a challenge

I’m not trying to play hard to get

Your arrogance I can’t manage

And my right hook is probably the strongest you’ve met

 

I get my hands dirty

I drink my whiskey straight up

I don’t bat my eyes, act flirty

And pass on that wine glass for a red solo cup

I’m not some dainty bird about to take flight

God home, city boy, I am not your Snow White

 

I won’t clean your house

Or bake your mama a pie

I’m not quiet as a mouse

No, I’m not shy

 

I get my hands dirty

I drink my whiskey straight up

I don’t bat my eyes, act flirty

And pass on that wine glass for a red solo cup

I’m not some dainty bird about to take flight

Go home, city boy, I am not your Snow White

_____________________________________________________________

So if you’re out there reading this, Miranda Lambert, please know that I am open to selling the piece :-P. The truth is I can’t sing, can’t read music, and have zero interest in doing all the necessary work that goes into making a legit demo, sending it to 100 producers, and waiting with bated breath to hear back. I do this enough with my fiction writing. I don’t even have the creative energy to start a hashtag, I don’t know, like #MirandaSingMySong this week. But if you’re out there reading blogs and searching the digital ether for songs not currently under contract (because you’re not busy enough being famous) know that I (clearly an unbiased party) think this one is perfect for you.

Leave a Reply

