Psyche and Cupid and looking at a story from a new point of view

62f5c2a7576d941930f5dfe5f3486d89I’ve never done it before but have liked some of the stories I’ve read written from an inanimate object’s point of view. Think of Cinderella told by her glass slippers or Sleeping Beauty from the perspective of the spinning wheel. It changes the story. Here was my crack at it-

Epic of a Wedding Dress

Scarlet and vibrant,

Elegant and fine,

I am the gown Psyche will wear,

As they toss her to the heavens,

More stunning than faire.

A funeral and wedding ensues,

I certainly have the wedding dress blues.

 

Uncertain and young,

Long lashed and fine boned,

She will meet a shadow anonymous.

She will go willing to his arms,

This secret, love eponymous.

Only at night his ghostly hand pursues,

I certainly have the wedding dress blues.

 

Jealous and small,

Mean in spirit and thought,

Those sisters of Psyche’s whom she did miss.

Instruct her to look at Shadow’s face,

Find who lovingly stole her first kiss.

Her lovely home and marriage she will undo,

I certainly have the wedding dress blues.

 

Upon skin clammy and cold,

Dripping with regretful despair,

I clothe her body as she is cast to mother-in-law to meet,

A goddess full of untamed anger,

Of plans of revenge and deceit.

With pain of death, her fisted hands in me like a noose,

I certainly have the wedding dress blues.

 

Tall and spindly,

A terrible tower to climb,

Then later the pits of hell to explore,

His name she calls out,

With love to implore,

To save her or make death come quickly, just choose!

I certainly have the wedding dress blues.

 

Winged and warlike,

More monster than man,

Her dashing love comes to her aid,

To scoop up his mortal embattled,

And ask Zeus to bless wedding plans made,

His heavenly mother made angry when the King does not refuse,

I certainly no longer have the wedding dress blues.

Leave a Reply

