Author Interview: Andreas Herteux

Today I’m interviewing fellow author and German native, Andreas Herteux. Welcome, Andreas!

Thank you, too for the interview. I am happy to be here.

Andreas, what made you want to start writing children’s books?

The Star Child and the Raven is my fist book for children but I think it is not only a book for kids. But that must be decided by the readers. My intention was to make something that is cool and easy to read, but has also a deeper story behind.

Like many authors (me included!) do you keep a day job to finance your writing career? Can you tell us about it?

I would not say the one is for the other. I studied Economics and Law. After that, I entered the financial and insurance sector. I never had the idea to be just an author. I was always very interested in processes and optimizations. Shaping. To participate in such a thing would not be possible as a pure author. But if I were completely independent, I would be less concerned with writing, but with research. For what? For a better world for all. With success? Maybe not. But I would try.

Did something specific inspire you to write The Star Child and The Raven?

If there was an inspiration, then the fairy tales, legends, myths and historical events, I was always fascinated

I was so surprised and sad you killed the raven off in the end. He gets to be so wise throughout the story. Was his death decided at the beginning or did you think, “The book would be more meaningful this way?” as you were working on it?

This was, of course, a point. It should be a good story and whether the raven really died? Not so clear.
The second point was that it is a story about love. With a touch philosophy. And sometimes love hurts. There is also one last point. I usually think deeply about such stories. For this reason it contains some motifs from classical myths, legends and history. The Raven himself mentions one of them when he reports that his ancestors once followed a ruler. A reference to Friedrich Barbarossa (1122 – 1190) and his eternal sleep. Odin/Wotan, a Germanic god, had ravens, died at three and come back. The idea of salvation, maybe in a christian  is just as important as many others.
But, all these thoughts are not important. The depth is not important. The reader gets a great story. That counts.

What’s next on your own reading list?

It is “The Rise and Fall of Ancient Egypt” by Toby Wilkinson.

What’s your favorite English language book and why?

 

I think there are just too many books to choose a favorite. I think I like too many.

To check out Andreas’ children’s book click here.

Leave a Reply

